Backed Up

on

There are some things that just go together. For example: Tom & Jerry, Soup & Salad, Salt & Pepper, Rock & Roll, Love & Trust, Willie & Waylon and of course, Bacon & Anything. I’m sure you can think of plenty of others. But what about things that don’t go together?

Some things that don’t go together are: Electricity & Water, Fire & Gas, Drinking & Driving and Technology & Me. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy technology and am thankful for most technology but having to actually deal with it, isn’t the best of things.

Take last Friday evening as an example. My phone was not working unless it was continually plugged into a power source. That kind of takes the convenience out of a cell phone. So, my Bride and I went to an un-named cellular provider to see about getting new phones. We had a very polite and knowledgeable young man help us. As soon as he introduced himself, I confessed to my lack of knowledge and ability when it came to cell phones and computers. He smiled and said he gets that all the time and it wouldn’t be a problem. Little did he know what was in store for him.

It was getting close to 8PM which was when the store was supposed to close. But we were quickly able to pick out new phones and he started the process of getting them set up. Thankfully, Cheryl’s phone was easy for him to deal with, he had it starting to set up rather easily. My phone would be another issue.

He asked me when the last time I had “backed it up” was. He might as well had asked me when the last time I had split an atom was. You should have seen the terror look in his eyes when he realized that my phone had probably never been backed up. So he started the process and it didn’t take long for the time needed to finish the backup to move from minutes to hours. Many hours.

The only people left in the store was us and a fellow employee of his. This was a bittersweet moment for him. Since it was the last day of the month, he was in need of a couple of new phone sales to make his monthly bonus. That turned out to be us. But he was also facing working well past the typical closing time and getting home to his pregnant wife. And that was in thanks to me. I began to wonder if he would have rather gave up his bonus just to be able to go home on time.

We stuck it out for a while and realized that it was going to take a long time, and by long time I mean hours, many hours to complete the back up on my phone. So in the interest of mercy and sanity, we just had my new phone turned on so I could receive calls and make calls. He asked me to bring the old phone by the next day and leave it with them to let it complete the back up. I said I would. So we headed home with new phones and me not being able to remember a single phone number should I need to call anyone.

Phones

When we dropped the phone off the next day, we were informed that our guy from the night before had called in sick for the day. I don’t know whether he wanted a day off since he made his bonus or if there was no way he wanted to be there to help me. Probably both. The manager did everything she could do, eventually getting all my contacts moved after we left the phone with them for almost three hours. To get all of the other items off the old phone, I would need to let it sit for hours on a higher speed Wi-Fi than they had. Why does technology have to be so hard? I realize now that backing up the phone is important and I won’t wait years until it’s done again. At least I will try not to.

I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned.
– John 15:5-6 (NIV).

But the same is true with our relationship with Jesus. When was the last time you “backed up” your walk with Christ? When was the last time you read God’s Word? When was the last time you talked to Him?

Making sure our contacts and pictures are backed up and safe on our phones is important but not nearly as important as maintaining our relationship with Jesus. We can get caught up in the busyness of life and neglect to talk to Him or read His Word. We can just decide all together that we are “good” and think we don’t need Him on a daily basis. We’ll worry about it when something happens. And then sometime down the road, our phone quits working and we wonder why we didn’t do something to prevent this.

Losing a phone or its information is nothing compared to losing a loved one. Finding out that you, a family member or a friend have cancer is by far more important that losing some pictures on a phone. But why are most of us more concerned about our phones than we are about our relationship with Jesus? Most of us would think we can’t live without our phones but the truth is we can’t live without Jesus.

Which is more important to you: your phone or your walk with Christ? How often do you charge your phone? How often do you back it up? Now compare that to how often you read the Bible and how much time you spend in prayer. Is there a big difference? Does your phone get most of your time and attention?

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path.
– Psalm 119:105 (NIV).

It may be hard to believe or even more difficult to remember but there existed a time when we all didn’t have a phone in our pockets. I’m sure with the advancements in technology that one day there will be a micro-chip placed in the brain that will replace the cell phone. We can then just think about someone and give them a call or a text. For the love of all that is sacred and good, I hope I have been called home by then. I just don’t see me and technology ever being that close.

So take some advice from a “technology moron”, back up your phone. But take this advice as well, back up your relationship with Christ every day. Read His Word and spend time in prayer with Him, because in the end your phone will fail you but Jesus never will.

ReadActMinisterPray and run to the Cross!
Hugh

Leave a Reply

