Don’t Live With A Rock In Your Shoe

Human beings are peculiar people. Maybe that’s why I am the poster child for that statement.  It never ceases to amaze me the things that we will tolerate compared to the things that upset us. We know better but we don’t.

One morning last week, I was out on my quest to stay as close to healthy as possible when I realized that I have a rock in my shoe. It was right in a place that was irritating the fire out of me. But after a few moments it would move and not be as noticeable, so I just kept running. Then in a few minutes there it was again, causing some serious pain to my foot.

Now I haven’t been described as “mule headed” for nothing. I have earned it and unfortunately at times, taken pride in it. I didn’t stop and get the rock out of my shoe. I stubbornly kept going to I finished my run. It was as if stopping would have ended my quest for some kind of Olympic record.

When I finally did stop and get the rock out of my shoe, it turned out to be a tiny pebble if it was that big. That small little object in my shoe, in the right place could cause some serious pain. It seemed like it should be bigger but it wasn’t.

Isn’t sin like that in our lives?

Sin can be small, at least in our minds, but cause a great deal of pain or irritation. Yet we keep going, thinking that it will just go away. Maybe it does for a little while, only to return again. Why do we let little things like a tiny pebble in our shoe keep effecting us? Why don’t we stop and deal with it then? Why do we let sin affect us the same way?

The smart thing to do is to stop, take off the shoe, get the tiny pebble out and then continue on. But how often do we just ignore the tiny pebble or sin, thinking it will go away, or worse yet, that we can make it go away by our own power?

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.”  Hebrews 12:1 (NIV).

Ignoring something doesn’t solve anything. That holds true for situations in life and for the sin we deal with on a daily basis. We must confront our sin immediately. How much better would life be if we dealt with those irritating situations up front? We often worry and fret instead of dealing with it. Only to find out there was nothing to worry or fret about.

Sin doesn’t turn out that way. Ignoring sin only makes it worse.

Like I said we are peculiar beings. We will worry and fret over imaginary problems, yet tolerate sin our lives.

Rock in shoe

The old definition of insanity (Doing the same things over again but expecting different results) cannot be the standard by which we live. We must seek to rid ourselves of the sin that separates us from God. We must change. We cannot remain the same. We can’t continue to ignore and tolerate our sin.

This is the week of “Super Bowl” Sunday for Christians. So many people come on Easter that we have to add services. But Jesus didn’t die for our sins just for this week or just for Easter Sunday. He died so that we might be able to rid ourselves of our sin every day of the year.

Direct my footsteps according to your word; let no sin rule over me.” Psalm 119: 133 (NIV).

Get rid of the tiny pebble, or maybe it is a big rock, in your shoe. Jesus is the one we need to rely on for He is always faithful and true.

I can’t imagine running to the cross with sin in my shoe!
Hugh

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jesse says:

    Another fantastic writing from our brother and friend Hugh Simpson. Thank you brother for being a willing vessel to Cary the message to men in our community and beyond.

    Like

Leave a Reply

