Are We Living It Out?

Every morning I receive an email from FamilyLife. The topics are different each morning and have really offered some very interesting and thought provoking subjects. One from this past week really struck a chord with me and RAMP in particular.

The subject was “This is the Church.” It listed 5 things that you should look for if you are looking for a church to attend.  Also, if you are attending a church, does your church reflect these 5 things? The 5th item is the one that struck me the most.

Here is the complete list:

  1. Is it anchored in the Scriptures?
  2. Does it have a sense of community?
  3. Is it characterized by worship?
  4. Is there opportunity for involvement?
  5. Does it build men?

For me, it was a “Yes” to the first four questions but #5 gave me pause. I have been asking and wondering to myself if RAMP is making a difference? Are we?

Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.”  John 12:26 (NIV).

RAMP was created to call men out and encourage them to be the men that God calls us to be. It was not intended to be a “Book Club” or even a typical Bible study. The purpose was to get us out of the “House of Fine” and deal with the issues that have kept us from being the leaders, specifically the men, husbands and fathers, we were created to be.

Being a part of this has made a difference in my life. Has it yours? How can we work through the material and not be changed? Granted a few of the men that have been a part of RAMP have left the reservation, so to speak. Truthfully, they just abdicated their role as a Godly man.

approved to God

So while I believe that scripture and scripture-based studies are powerful, if we aren’t seeking God each and every day and putting effort into our faith, there is no guarantee that we couldn’t do the same.

How many men in our church need to be part of something like RAMP? I know we can all think of a few guys. So how do we encourage them to leave the “House of Fine”? This new study is a perfect starting point for someone to join.

This is the quote from the email concerning “Does it build men?” “I’m not minimizing ministry to women and children, but a lot of struggles in our families and culture could become points of victory if men were equipped with a vision for manhood and were living it out.”

I really believe that the studies we have been through in RAMP have equipped us with a vision for manhood. If anything, it should equip us with a different vision than we had before. But are we “living it out?”

We have been given something of value. We will bury it and do nothing with it or will we invest it and increase the kingdom?

In the world we live in today, there are few things more important than Restoring A Man’s Purpose.

Run to the cross and bring along a brother!
Hugh

Leave a Reply

