RESOLVE!

New Year’s Resolutions. Making them at the first of the year is a trendy thing to do. But how often are they only partially fulfilled or completely forgotten about a few days into the New Year?

Between Christmas and New Year’s, I had the opportunity to go duck hunting for a second year in a row. Now I am not a big hunter but there is something about duck hunting that I enjoy. I enjoy being around some of my family, old friends and making some new friends. I also enjoy where we go duck hunting.

High Plains Waterfowl is located in St. Charles, Arkansas, population 261. Not far from the bustling metropolis’ of DeWitt and Stuttgart. To call it a Christian hunting lodge is not really an accurate description, although it is. It is definitely a one of a kind place. It is run by Brian Womack and it is an awesome story about how God called him to start HPW and the impact it is having on God’s kingdom. I hope that if he is ever in our area, we can get him to speak at LFBC.

Brian’s wife and children are a part of the ministry also. Getting to know them and interact with them is one of the unexpected blessings I received. There are also guides like Ben, Josiah and Taylor who are an important part of HPW. Also this year, the Journey Room was completed. It is one of the most impactful places at HPW. It’s a room filled with Biblical displays that point to the cross. Christ is prominent from the moment you arrive. I am sure Brian would appreciate your prayers.

Besides hunting and eating incredible food (thank you Kathy), Brian does a bible study with the men every day. This year’s topic really made an impact on me and I think on all of the men who were there. He challenged us about being “Men of Resolve.”

Be Strong

Resolve means to make a definite and serious decision about something. Brian challenged us to be Men of Resolve in our relationship with Christ. We looked at Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego; we looked at David and Saul/Paul and we looked at Jesus. You can use the word resolve to describe each one of them.

That led me to ask myself: “Am I a man of Resolve?” The answer to that is yes and no. And that is not the answer it should be. When it comes to my relationship with Christ, especially my relationship with Christ, it should be yes. Being a man of resolve in my relationship with Christ effects every other relationship in my life. I can see that when I am not a man of resolve, when I decide that something is acceptable that in truth is not acceptable, it has a negative impact on my life.

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a workman who does not need to be ashamed and who correctly handles the word of truth.”  2 Timothy 2:15 (NIV).

I do not want to be the same man in 2016 that I was in 2015. I want to grow in my relationship with Christ. I want to read more of His Word and understand more of it. I don’t want to be complacent and accept that I am well enough to get by. I am resolved to change. Do you have a goal or goals for 2016? Will you join me in being a Man of Resolve for Christ?

At the end of the study we were asked to give words that described Resolve or a Man of Resolve. Here are just a few of them: Passionate. Obedient, Faithful, Selfless, Committed, Steadfast, Honest, Unashamed, Impactful, Predictable and a Difference Maker. There are more and I am sure you can think of others. Will these words describe us at the end of 2016?

Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.” Ephesians 6:13 (NIV).

There is much to be thankful for in 2015. Being a part of a group of men like you is one of the things for which I am most thankful. It is my prayer that we can continue to grow in our relationship with God and each other and seek to become the men, husbands and fathers He calls us to be.

May we be men resolved on running to the cross!
Hugh

Leave a Reply

