PART 2: Top 10 Quotes from the Wide Road

Top 10 Quotes from the Wide Road

PART 2

After spending more time on the road talking with Cam, we realized that we could do another Top 10 list of quotes from the Wide Road. Hoping that this is from inspiration and not from delirium, here is another 10. And hopefully the last from the Wide Road.

  1. I don’t have to go to church to be a Christian/That’s the day I spend with my family.

    Hebrews 10:25. Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another-and all the more as you see the Day approaching.

    Proverbs 22:6 Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.

    Matthew 18:20. “For where two or three come together in my name, there am I with them.

  2. God didn’t call me to missions or to be a missionary.

    Matthew 28: 18-20. Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.

  3. It’s a woman’s right to choose to have an abortion.

    Psalm 139:13-16. For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

    Romans 12:1. Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God-this is your spiritual act of worship.

    Exodus 20:13. “You shall not murder.”

  4. I’m Christian because I go to church every Sunday.

    Ephesians 2: 8-9. For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith-and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God-not by works, so that no one can boast.

  5. If I don’t look out for me first, who will?

    Philippians 2:3. Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit, but in humility consider others better than yourselves.

  6. Everybody else is doing it, so it can’t be that bad.

    Romans 12:2. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is-his good, pleasing and perfect will.

    1 John 2:15-16. Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For everything in the world-the cravings of sinful man, the lust of the eyes, and the boasting of what he has and does-comes not from the Father but from the world.

  7. I’m too old or young for God to use.

    1 Timothy 4:12. Don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young, but set an example for the believers in speech, in life, in love, in faith and in purity.

    Psalm 92:12-15. The righteous will flourish like a palm tree, they will grow like a cedar of Lebanon; planted in the house of the Lord, they will flourish in the courts of our God. They will bear fruit in old age, they will stay fresh and green, proclaiming, “The Lord is upright; he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness in him.”

    2 Corinthians 4:16. Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day.

  8. I can’t be perfect like Jesus, so why try?

    Romans 6: 15-16.What then? Shall we sin because we are not under law but under grace? By no means! Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone to obey him as slaves, you are slaves to the one whom you obey-whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness?

    2 Timothy 2: 19. Nevertheless, God’s solid foundation stands firm, sealed with this inscription: “The Lord knows those who are his,” and, “Everyone who confesses the name of the Lord must turn away from wickedness.”

  9. I don’t need Jesus or religion.

    John 3:16-18. “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him. Whoever believes in him is not condemned, but whoever does not believe stands condemned already because he has not believed in the name of God’s one and only Son.

  10. There is no God.

    Psalm 53:1. The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.” They are corrupt, and their ways are vile; there is no one who does good.

    Romans 1:20. For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities-his eternal power and divine nature-have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.

    Ephesians 4:18. They are darkened in their understanding and separated from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them due to the hardening of their hearts.

You can’t run to the cross on the wide road. It’s a narrow path to the cross.
Hugh

Leave a Reply

