How bad was Sodom and Gomorrah?

How bad was Sodom and Gomorrah

OK, I have to admit, this really did take me by surprise. I have said nothing surprises me anymore but the following surprised me.

The Office of Diversity and Inclusion (I am NOT making this up) at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville is asking students and faculty to stop using the pronouns “he” and “she.” Again, I am not kidding, this was a real story on the Fox News website. But it gets better or worse, depending on if you are a glass half-full or half-empty person. Personally, I’m a something in glass guy.

The article went on to say that these traditional pronouns can be offensive. So they request the use of Gender Neutral pronouns such as “ze”, “zir” and “xyr.” You can’t make this stuff up.

I went to the internet to see if this was a real story. Because you know everything on the internet is true, right? Turns out, it is true. It is cited by other news organizations.

Congratulations America! In the drive to become a secular nation, we have blown right past it to stupid. So when you look at everything that is going on in this country, it leads me to one question:

How bad were Sodom and Gomorrah?

If you read through the account in Genesis, Chapters 18 & 19, there are some disturbing things. God agreed to save Lot and his family because Abraham asked, what would have happened to them had he not. The mob that assembled in front of Lot’s house wanted the “strangers” for a despicable purpose. Lot was even willing to give them his two virgin daughters to do what they wanted. As a father of a daughter, I find this incredibly difficult. We all know what eventually happens to the family.

Then he said, “May the Lord not be angry, but let me speak just once more. What if only ten can be found there?”  He answered, “For the sake of ten, I will not destroy it.”  Genesis 18:32

Makes me wonder about our country and world. I know I am called to seek righteousness but I know that I am not. I struggle with sin. So whoever the righteous people that have, as of this writing, kept us from this kind of wrath, you have my undying thanks.

Have you thought why hasn’t God punished this country for what it’s turning into? What if he has started punishing us and we just don’t recognize it?

Blessed is the nation whose God is the Lord, the people he chose for his inheritance.”  Psalm 33:12

No matter which one it is, one thing is still clear: There is time for people to come to know Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior!

So at the end of the day, whether we can decide what sex we are, which race we want to be or if we can live with the horror of being called a “he” or “she”, we must decide to share Jesus in how we live. Jesus is the only hope and salvation for a lost and increasingly self-absorbed, unintelligent world.

Righteousness exalts a nation, but sin is a disgrace to any people.”  Proverbs 14:34.

We are imperfect messengers of a perfect gospel. Would each one of us be willing to be condemned, ostracized and possibly put in jail for our conviction to live our faith without compromise? At this moment, one woman in Kentucky is doing just that. Agree with her or not, when we are called to make a stand, we can expect to be treated just like she is if we stand by our convictions.

May we run to the cross with uncompromising zeal!
Hugh

Leave a Reply

