Are you UN-Ashamed?

Are you UN-Ashamed

Last Sunday, I had the opportunity to read the “Fellowship of the Unashamed” in front of the church. For those of you who just completed the “Courage” book in our RAMP group, this was in Chapter 13 and not included in any of the questions from the other chapters. It was a hidden little gem that had a big impact on me.

The authorship of the “Fellowship of the Unashamed” is in dispute. Some link it to a young pastor in Rwanda or Zimbabwe, others link it to a Fellowship of Christian athletes group. That really narrows it down. The bottom line there is no clear author. At least a human author who can be given credit.

For those of you who were not a part of the “Courage” study here it is.

“Fellowship of the Unashamed”

I am part of the Fellowship of the Unashamed. The die has been cast. The decision has been made. I have stepped over the line. I won’t look back, let up, slow down, back away or be still.
My past is redeemed, my present makes sense, and my future is secure. I’m finished and done with low living, sight walking, small planning, smooth knees, colorless dreams, tamed visions, mundane talking, cheap giving and dwarfed goals.
I no longer need preeminence, prosperity, position, promotions, plaudits or popularity. I don’t have to be right, first, tops, recognized, praised, regarded or rewarded. I now live by faith, lean on His presence, walk on patience, live by prayer and labor with power.
My face is set, my gait is fast, my goal is Heaven, my road is narrow, my way is rough, my companions are few, my Guide is reliable, and my mission is clear. I cannot be bought, compromised, detoured, lured away, turned back, deluded or delayed. I will not flinch in the face of sacrifice, hesitate in the presence of the adversary, negotiate at the table of the enemy, ponder at the pool of popularity or meander in the maze of mediocrity.
I won’t give up, shut up, let up or slow up until I have stayed up, stored up, prayed up, paid up and spoken up for the cause of Christ. I am a disciple of Jesus. I must go until He comes, give till I drop, preach till all know and work till He stops me. And when He comes for His own, He will have no problem recognizing me.
My banner is clear: I am a part of the Fellowship of the Unashamed.

No matter who the author may or may not be, this is a powerful reminder of how we should be living our lives for Christ.

“However, if you suffer as a Christian, do not be ashamed, but praise God that you bear that name.” 1 Peter 4:16.

“In you, O Lord, I have taken my refuge; let me never be put to shame; deliver me in your righteousness.” Psalm 31:1.

May we never be ashamed of the Gospel. May we never be ashamed to be followers of Jesus Christ. And may we always be part of the “Fellowship of the Unashamed.”

Unashamedly running to the cross of Christ!
Hugh

Leave a Reply

