Who, me worry?

Who me worryBro. Rufus said something in his sermon last Sunday that all of us needed to hear. He said that Worry is a sin. It wasn’t the first time I had heard that and hopefully not the last.

Are you a “worrier”? Do you know someone who is a “worrier”?

My Grandmother was a worrier. An Olympic-class worrier. She seemed to be scared of her own shadow and constantly worried. Whenever a dark cloud would come up, no matter how big or small, she would panic. Now keep in mind this was the 1960’s and early 1970’s, no sirens, no sophisticated radars with early warnings, no phone apps, just your local television stations updates. She would go around the house and unplug everything. Hard to get a TV update when it’s unplugged.

She would then take me and my brother to the living room where she would chain smoke and worry until it blew over. My Grandfather would defiantly sit in the den at the table drinking coffee and chain smoke. He never came in with us. All of the windows would be open because in that day and time it was thought that tornados, or the pressure from tornados, destroyed houses from the inside out. Of course we know better now, but it just shows you we can and will believe in anything.

Fortunately, after a while the storm or imagined storm, in her mind, would pass and things would go back to normal. Normal being we could go outside or to other rooms in the house, she never stopped the chain smoking or worry. She would worry when she drove or when she was in the car and someone else was driving. Worry seemed to consume her at times.

There is one day I will never forget and is a reminder to me that worry is an absolute waste of our time and an insult to God. I came home from school one afternoon, she was sitting at the table in the den, drinking coffee, chain smoking and sobbing. Not just crying but sobbing. Scared the life out of me.

I thought at first something happened to my Grandfather or my Mom. I asked her what was wrong, but she could not speak clear enough to answer me. I then began to think she had discovered something I had done, something I had done that I was about to get in trouble. Panic set in. I was about to start confessing to anything and everything I could think of, I was about to confess to things I had nothing to do with, crimes that I was too young to even think of much less commit.

Then she spoke. A lady whose name I can’t remember had died. Instant relief for me. I would not have to confess about riding my bike where I shouldn’t have. I then asked her who this lady was, where did she live, did I know her?

That’s when she dropped the bomb. It was a lady from her “story.” For those of you not familiar with the lingo of that time, it means Soap Opera. A TV show. A character. Good grief. I stood there and had no idea what to say or do. She was mourning for a fictional lady with fictional children. My Grandmother worried what would happen to her fictional family?

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?” Matthew 6:25-27

If we believe that God is who He says He is, why would we worry about anything? When has worry ever produced anything positive? How many times do we worry about things we have no control over? How many times have we worried about something but when it’s over realize there was nothing to worry about?

Let us not be men of worry. Let us be men of faith. Men who trust in the Lord and show the others around us that worry is worthless.

But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”  Matthew 6:33 & 34.

May we always be running to the cross!

Hugh

Leave a Reply

