What’s Love Got To Do With It?

What's Love Got To Do With ItI had hoped I would be the first one. I hoped to be the trailblazer, a hero, the first to step out and lead a bold movement that would change a nation and maybe change the world. But Pastor David Vaughan of the Whitewater Crossing Christian Church stole my thunder this past weekend. But I refuse to live in silence in a plutonic relationship that has always been so much more.

Today, we live in a country where you can marry anyone and anything you wish. Traditional marriage from a biblical standpoint is outdated. SCOTUS has said it is so. The law of our land has corrected the law of God. We have all made lawyer jokes, well, now they have paid us back.

Let me state publically that my love for my bride has not changed nor has it waned. I consider her a gift from God; she is my best friend. But she is aware of this other relationship I have been in, she has known it from the moment we met. It is time for me to admit and proclaim this “other” love, a love that until this last week was forbidden and taboo.

I LOVE BACON!

What a personal moment of triumph and equality! I no longer have to live in the refrigerated closet. I guess now I am a polygamist or a “porkygamist” of some kind. I know there will be some of you that will reject my love of the pork underbelly, you will make fun of me and shun me when you see me on the street. But I am free! No longer restricted to giving bacon as gifts (always with a fake smile as I give away the sweet fatty meat) or eating it and having to share it with others. No More!

This love started when I was very young. It was undeniable. I tried to fight it, tried to love something else. I tried to be traditional and love vegetables and fruits but my heart was meant for bacon. And not just bacon. I love its brothers and sisters: sausage, pork chop, ham, tenderloin, Boston butt and fat back. I even loved bacons cousin from Canada. I was all in. I am all in.

Some of you will say it’s bad for me. That I have to stop. You will tell me the Doctor has said in his words and writings that it will increase my cholesterol and blood pressure. It will cause death. But that is outdated thinking written by men who don’t know who I am. This is what I love and I have the right to love and be equal with everyone else. I demand equality with vegetarians and health food nuts. I demand that you accept the way I am because love is all that matters. It’s how I was made.

Absurd, isn’t it? But if you hold it up to what is going on today, is it really that absurd?

We live in a world that is demanding a Holy God be changed to fit our wants, needs and desires so that we can be happy with who we are. Yet He calls us to be conformed to His Holy image. He calls us to repent, confess and forsake who we are. He calls us to love others, which is absolutely true. But He calls us to love Him first. He calls us to die to ourselves, to our selfish, rebel natures and to follow Him.

As obedient children, do not conform to the evil desires you had when you lived in ignorance. But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do, for it is written: “Be holy, because I am holy.”  1 Peter 1: 14-16.

We cannot fit God to our sin. We can argue all day long about what the Bible says about this and about that. It is clear in scripture and in Gods character that sin cannot and will not be tolerated. Hence, Jesus. We can say He never said anything about this or that but He was clear that we are to love God, first, with all of our hearts, souls and minds. We are to seek to be Holy and rid ourselves of the sin with which we are so comfortable.

I am a sinner in desperate need of a savior, in desperate need of Jesus. I do not want to be comfortable with who I am. I pray for conviction, for brokenness, for a new heart that would seek to be like Jesus. I do not want to resemble this world. I want to resemble Jesus.

May we always be running to the cross, because if we aren’t running to it we are running from it.

Hugh

Leave a Reply

