What’s in a name?

What's in a name

I am struggling with this week’s email. Not because it’s bad, it’s definitely not. I struggle because it brings me to tears. It’s all I can do to even try to talk about it, so I’m hoping writing is a little less emotional.

Unfortunately, some of us know what it is like to experience divorce. It’s a painful and messy situation. It’s a train wreck of your life. But because God is who He says He is, there is hope and restoration. It might take longer than we want but He is always faithful and never leaves us.

It has been a little over 5 years since I married Cheryl, the incredible bride that God brought into my life. I not only gained a bride but God doubled my children. Tyler and Noah were added to Brian and Hannah. I am proud and love each one of them. It has not always been easy but it has been one of the greatest blessings and years of my life.

On May 4, 2015, Tyler became Houston Tyler Simpson. By his own decision, he changed his name. He took my name. It was something I would have never asked for, nor was he influenced in any way. This is something he wanted to do. I have never been so proud and humbled at the same time. Humbled to tears. Completely humbled. Completely joyful. I am proud he is my son.

When we get to the place that we realize we are lost in our sin, when we are in desperate need of a savior, and call upon the Lord to save us, how so you think He feels when we become His child?

I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do not need to repent.”  Luke 15:7.

In the same way, I tell you, there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents.”  Luke 15:10.

But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate. For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ So they began to celebrate.”  Luke 15:22-24.

                I believe when we each came to a saving knowledge of Jesus, there was celebration in heaven. I believe it brought joy to the heart of the Father.

                Now Tyler’s decision didn’t come with universal approval. Most were happy for him and others not so much. Doesn’t that also reflect what happens when we come to know Jesus or recommit our lives and truly to seek the Fathers will? There are those that are happy and then there are others who don’t approve and may even begin to try and tear us down.

                There’s our true human nature…….selfishness. Christ calls us to die to ourselves, pick up our cross and follow Him. To be SELFLESS.

                My prayer is for us all to be selfless, to share what Jesus has done in our lives so that others would come to know Him. So that others would “change” their name and become a child of the Father. To become a child of God.

May we always be running to the cross!

Hugh

Leave a Reply

