What are we doing with our Faith?

Charles Spurgeon said “What is faith? It is made up of three things- knowledge, belief and trust.”

The word “Believe” is used 21 times in the Old Testament and 139 times in the New Testament (NIV). Clearly believing is an incredibly important part of our faith. Do we sometimes think that believing is the end or the completion?

I have been on medicine for High Blood Pressure since I was 25 years old. I have weighed 40 pounds more and 25 pounds less than I do now. With either extreme, the medicine is still required. I guess you can call it a hereditary gift from my family. That is the knowledge that I need something that I can’t provide myself.

That’s where the medicine comes in. I can read everything available about the medicine. I can learn the chemical compositions and how they interact with my body to lower my HBP. I can read all of the clinical studies performed and understand that the medicine works. I can listen to my doctor and pharmacist tell me that this is what I need. I can have all of the knowledge and belief in the world………….

But if I don’t take the medicine, if I don’t put it into my body, all the knowledge and belief in the world won’t do me any good. I have to take it and put it inside me, I have to trust that it is going to help me.

Isn’t it the same with Jesus?

How can we, who have this faith in Jesus, this Gospel of Hope, not be changed? How can we be the same person once we believe? How can we be silent and not share this incredible gift with others?

“Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” Hebrews 11:1.

We have learned that we never own anything. All of our possessions, no matter how big or small, are all gifts from God. We will be held accountable for what we do with what we have been given.

Will we be held accountable for what we did with the Gospel? I believe that we will be. This Gospel is the medicine that cures all sin! In a world that is reveling in sin and headed to certain death without Jesus, this Gospel is the only hope.

And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” Matthew 28:18-20.

May we always be running to the cross!

Hugh

Leave a Reply

