Dodge Ball/Dodge Sin

This past Sunday night, after the Youth worship service, Randy Cater set up a Dodgeball tournament and asked some of the older folks to participate. How could we turn down the opportunity to relive a childhood game that, most likely, helped to scar us all in one way or another?

It was a lot of fun and us “Old Guys” came within a pulled muscle or so from winning the whole thing. Now that would have been a highlight video for the ages.

However, it got me to thinking. I know I’m getting older. I fully realize that I am 53 years old. And it is a fact that the mind may be willing but the body just isn’t able. I could see the balls coming at me and my mind made a decision to move, but it seemed like somewhere between that decision and my body actually moving, there was some kind of committee meeting going on. I guess my muscles and joints got together to discuss what if anything should be done. I’m sure a vote was taken. But by the time a decision had been made, well it was too late, I had already been hit.

I seem to remember a day when there was a closer relationship between my mind and body. A day when I could actually avoid being hit. A day when I could see what was coming and move out of the way.
Isn’t it the same with sin?

dodge ball

Almost always, I see sin coming. I recognize it, know I should avoid it but by the time my mind and body make a decision, it’s too late. I have already taken a direct hit or a glancing blow. Either way, I have let sin effect my life, because I have relied upon myself and not on Jesus.

“Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.”  Ephesians 6:14-18.

Sound familiar? The prayer we close each RAMP meeting with is based on this scripture. One of the incredible parts of what we are called to do is……..STAND. If we are prayerfully seeking God, if we are reading and filling our lives with His Word, if we have given Him control, then all we are called to do is stand. He will take care of everything else.

All of the sin that comes at us will be deflected, defeated, it will not affect us. Not because of who we are but because who God is. It’s also a symbol of the church. Christ is the head and we are the body. When we seek Him and submit to His authority as the Head, then the body is glorifying Him. We are His hands and feet, we are doing things in His name and for His glory

We must be prepared for all of the sin that is coming at us. On our own we will be overwhelmed. Standing in the Armor of God, we will be victorious.

Always running to the cross!

Hugh

Leave a Reply

